I had an interesting email today that caught me eye: despite being addressed directly to me and including pertinent information (i.e. correct geographic location) I am convinced that it is spam – although having looked online to see if anyone else has received anything similar I’ve found nothing. The reason for bothering to post this online is because the personalised nature of it made it stand out as an advance in their techniques.
I’m including a copy of the email below, but the reasons for thinking it is Spam are:
- a hotmail sender address! (debbish6els@hotmail.com)
- The ‘Castellum Group’ is spelt Castellum and Castelum and put in inverted commas in an effort (I guess) of making it seem more important
- spelling mistakes (word wide web)
- grammar (we are looking for the new, talented, and responsible staff)
- classic Spam territory: financial transfers
- dubious promises (You will not have to pay the any tax)
- a different reply-to address than the sender address
- a search for the Castellum Group brings up a real estate company, not a financial services company
Here’s the email:
Dear Doug Andrews,
“The Castellum Group” is glad to announce an opening for the position of a customer relations manager in Market harborough.
Our company specializes in providing all types of protection for the business and transactions done through the word wide web. “The Castelum Group” is continuously growing and improving its globally offered services, and we are looking for the new, talented, and responsible staff. This is your chance to join a huge team of specialists and to get an interesting and rewarding job.
Our research department has considered all available methods of the financial assets transfer from our clients to us, as well as the need for the direct interaction with the clients, and concluded that the most effective approach would be finding a representative in each particular country. This would allow us to considerably reduce the cost and significantly increase the convenience of the services provided to our customers.
You will not have to pay the any tax or postal expenses. All these costs will be covered by “The Castellum Group”.
There are several suggestions and requirements for a successful candidate. The main one is the responsibility and reliability of such individual. We also welcome great people skills, and the ability to foster relationships with the clients – a charismatic person will have an advantage in the interview process. An ability to troubleshoot and resolve issues on the spot would be very useful.
An absolute must is having at least a twice a day access to the internet for communication with our managers and the use of the online office.
If you are interested in this job opening, please send your resume in the DOC or rich text format to our email castellumgr@gmail.com .
it’s a trust thing
I’m really fuming.
Every year or two it comes around that I need to renew the Thawte security certificate on www.selfcateringhols.com. Every time it comes round I have to refresh my mind as to what exactly needs doing. Every time it is the same, the documentation is unclear. There’s no one document that tells you everything you need to know, with the result that if you don’t know what to look for it becomes incomplete.
The thing that really really bugs me is that I thought I’d completed everything and having spoken to the live support on several occasions was under the impression that the certificate had been renewed and was OK. Having checked the site I saw the VALID certificate and moved on.
Today I went to the site and what did I see? INVALID security certificate!
It seems that as part of the whole process I omitted to click on a link, presumably to say that yes please I would like the certificate to show as valid. This was not made clear to me at any point, either in the documentation or with the live help.
I have a confession to make: I did this last time as well – the thing is that I do it so infrequently that I am effectively starting from scratch each time. I knew this time round that there had been ‘something’ that had tripped me up last time but nonetheless was sure I’d done everything right this time.
Thawte: ‘it’s a trust thing’, well as far as our visitors are concerned Thawte are doing exactly the opposite to what we are paying for, instead of giving them confidence to book online they’re actively telling them not to!
Last time this happened I asked them why it had not been incorporated into the ‘main’ process (there really is no added value in the action, there is nothing more to it than going to a page and clicking on a link). They told me that it had been requested and they were looking into it. This time around the response was more or less the same but was that it had ‘been requested but never seemed to happen’.
Overall my impression of Thawte is extremely poor, I’ll be looking at alternatives but suspect there is little option which may be why Thawte continue as they are.